Information and Resources



Presidential Dollar Coins

Andrew Jackson DollarAbout Presidential Dollar Coin Program

The Presidential Dollar series began in the year 2007. It was authorized under the Presidential Dollar Coin Act which also includes a mandate to increase the circulation of the dollar coin. This series follows the format of the very popular State Quarter series.

Presidential Dollar Designs

Four different designs of Presidential Dollars are issued each year. The obverse of each coin features the portrait of a different President, released in the order served. The reverse of the coin carries a common design which is a rendition of the Statue of Liberty. The coins are released at equal intervals throughout the year. Nearly every release has been accompanied by some sort of launch ceremony. An impersonator for the President being honored is often in attendance.

The coins feature special edge lettering. Edge lettering has not been used on  United States coins for some time. The edge lettering contains the date and mint mark of the coin as well as two mottoes traditionally included on US coins "In God We Trust" and "E Pluribus Unum."

Presidential Dollar Series

While the series has spurred some new collections, it has not had the widespread popularity experienced by the State Quarter series. Part of the reason is that the dollar coin does not circulate as much as the quarter dollar coin. The public awareness of the coin is not as great. Some also don't favor the dollar coin as they prefer dollar bills.

The series is scheduled to run until at least 2016. Each deceased President will eventually be honored. The coins for 2009 include William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk, and Zachary Taylor.


Welcome to the website. You will find a variety of information and resources on coin collecting, Presidential Dollars, State Quarters, and Silver Eagles. Visit the site for the most up to date news and events.